The Essex Association of Change Ringers   President: The Right Reverend the Lord Bishop of Chelmsford

Eight-bell Striking Competition

This competition is held on the second Saturday in July in the late afternoon, following the six-bell competition. Each of the 6 districts is invited to enter a team which is made up of bellringers from towers within their district. The event is arranged by the host district and is judged by an invited panel from outside the Association's boundaries. The object is to ring a set touch of a Triples (with tenor cover) or Major method chosen by the Association Master. Each team is then judged on their striking and rhythm whilst ringing the test piece.

Past winners

The following districts have won the eight-bell competition since 1970:

1970 Northern 1971 South Eastern 1972 South Eastern
1973 Northern 1974 South Western 1975 South Eastern
1976 Northern 1977 South Eastern 1978 South Eastern
1979 Southern 1980 Southern 1981 South Western
1982 South Eastern 1983 North Eastern 1984 Northern
1985 North Eastern 1986 South Eastern 1987 South Eastern
1988 South Western 1989 South Western 1990 South Western
1991 South Eastern 1992 South Eastern 1993 Northern
1994 North Western 1995 Southern 1996 South Eastern
1997 Southern 1998 South Western 1999 South Eastern
2000 South Eastern 2001 South Eastern 2002 South Eastern
2003 South Western 2004 South Eastern 2005 South Eastern
2006 South Eastern 2007 Southern 2008 South Eastern
2009 Southern 2010 South Eastern 2011 Southern
2012 South Eastern 2013 North Eastern 2014 North Eastern
2015 North Eastern 2016 North Eastern 2017 South Eastern
2018 South Eastern 2019 South Eastern 2022 South Eastern
2023 North Eastern

Results announcements and Ringing World reports

RSS feed | Send this page | Site Map | Privacy notice | Contact the Webmaster | ©1985-2023 The Essex Association of Change Ringers, registered as a Charity No 292250